Since the late 60s the Department became very well known for its virile academic programmes greatly facilitated trough its seminars, workshops and conferences as well as the number and quality of its foreign and visiting scholars, in addition to the research output of its local staff. It has, over this period, produced about 50 MAs and 50 PhD’s. A few of these have already been published while many are in the process of being published. Prof. Abdullahi Smith is well known for his seminal contributions on the history of state formation in Hausaland as well as his pioneering efforts towards the reconstruction of the history of the Sokoto Caliphate. The late professor also initiated major efforts towards the establishment, and development, of documentation/research centres and facilities in the form of archives, libraries, museums and an archaeological unit which has already developed into a full-fledged department.

It is important to stress that the Department also became greatly known for its independent, critical and radical scholarship particularly championed by two of its leading students, the late Dr. Yusuf Bala Usman and Dr. Mahmud Madibbo Tukur, among many others.

Many other scholars who helped to build the Department are presently engaged in various other parts of the world. Professors M.A Alhajj, Mahdi Adamu, Saad Abubakar, IUA Musa and A.M. Kani, who have published widely, are some of the foundation staff. Mention can here be made of Professor A.J Temu who is currently coordinating a major project on the History of Liberation struggles in Africa as well as Prof. J. E. Inikori and Prof Gloria Thomas Emeagwali who are presently professors of History in the United States.

In addition the Department also helped to found other departments in many other Nigerian universities or, in the least, helped towards the training of their staff. The Department has also greatly influenced the establishment and management of History and Culture Bureaux, along with their documentation/research facilities in the form of archives and museums, by such state governments as Sokoto, Kano, Katsina etc.

Posted on: October 13, 2019Site Admin
error: Alert: Content is protected !!